Unlike many moving companies in Austin, ABC Longhorn Moving is a licensed member of the Texas Department of Transportation (DMV Certificate #000531847B), and has been in good standing with them since 1984. Why is this important to you?
Simply put, if the moving company you hire is licensed by the DMV and there are any issues with your move – damages, etc., the DMV will step in to mediate the case. This alleviates the need to file in small claims court which is a huge savings to you in both time and money.
By law, Texas movers must be licensed with the TxDMV. If you hire one that isn’t, you risk losing your belongings. You will have many choices when it comes to selecting a moving company. If your mover isn’t licensed to conduct moves in Texas, you could risk losing your material possessions, family heirlooms or other items of personal and irreplaceable value. It is illegal for a mover to operate without a license to conduct moves. You can check that your mover is licensed in Texas by checking our Truck Stop database here: Texas DMV Truck Stop.
Before you hire a mover, first check the database that can tell you whether a company is licensed with the TxDMV. A licensed Texas mover will have an “Active” TxDMV certificate number on file. If you can’t find a moving company in our database, ask your mover to give you a copy of their TxDMV Certificate number.
Because prices and services offered vary from mover to mover, the DMV recommends you shop around before hiring a licensed mover. Keep in mind that the lowest price may not make the best deal. Don’t be afraid to ask questions and make sure you get everything in writing. Licensed movers are insured and will provide you with the proper documents for your move.
If you have a dispute about the charges or loss/damage to your goods, you must first file a written claim with your mover within 90 days of the delivery date. You must include enough information for the mover to investigate your claim along with any specific monetary amounts requested or other type of compensation you are seeking. If your mover does not receive your claim on time, your claim could be denied. If your claim involves damaged goods, you should preserve the containers along with the damaged goods so your mover may inspect them. Visit this website to file.
Your mover has 20 days to respond acknowledging your claim and has 90 days to pay, deny or make a settlement offer. Your mover has the right to inspect containers or damaged goods within 30 days of receiving your claim. If you are not satisfied with your settlement, you can contact the TxDMV for mediation or you may pursue the claim in a court of law (some counties require mediation before you can pursue your claim in a court of law).
Mediation is conducted by a neutral third party and coordinated by TxDMV at no cost to you. Ideally, mediation will be held by telephone conference, by written submission or in person at TxDMV facilities in Austin, Texas. If mediation is unsuccessful, you may pursue the claim in a court of law at your expense.
If you wish to file for mediation through TxDMV, download their form and submit your request within 30 days after the mover has responded to your claim with an unsatisfactory offer or a denial of your claim, or 90 days after the date you submitted your original claim you have not received a response from the mover. Go here to file your request.
If you feel that your mover is not complying within the rules and regulations set out by the State of Texas, you can file a complaint with TxDMV against a mover in several ways by visiting this website.
Movers that conduct interstate moves are subject to federal regulations under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). For more information on interstate moving companies or to file a complaint regarding an interstate move, visit www.protectyourmove.gov.